Cruising Club of America’s 2010 Award Winners

The Cruising Club of America (CCA) honored the extraordinary accomplishments of three intrepid sailors at the annual Awards Dinner on March 4, 2011, at the New York Yacht Club in Manhattan. CCA Commodore Sheila McCurdy acted as presenter with Awards Chair Bob Drew.

Alex Whitworth 2010 Blue Water Medalist

The Blue Water Medal was presented to Alexander Whitworth of Sydney, Australia, for his circumnavigation of the world via the Northwest Passage West to East.

2010 Far Horizons Award Winner Bill Cook

The Far Horizons Award was presented to William E. Cook of Hyannis, Mass., for a series of meritorious voyages to the far north of the globe including cruises to Greenland and Baffin Island, Canada.

Alessandro DiBeneditto, 2011Rod Stephens Trophy Winner

The Rod Stephens Trophy was accepted by Alessandro Di Benedetto of Rome, Italy, for his resourcefulness in jury rigging Findomestic, a 21-foot monohull, upon his approach to Cape Horn in 2010 during his solo, non-stop circumnavigation of the globe.

Photo Credit: Dan Nerney/ Cruising Club of America

Experience the thrilling world of sailing by following this link for comprehensive information on Chartering a Luxury Sailing Yacht.

Leave a Reply